Skip to Content

Opioid Crisis Response

  • Pain Management & Opioid Stewardship Team

Pain Management & Opioid Stewardship Team

A 27-member steering team of doctors, pharmacists, nurses and others are working to optimize effective pain management and safe use of opioids.

Team Members

  • Pain specialist Kelly Zach, MD, Innovative Pain & Spine Specialists – Medical Director
  • Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer Lisa Vail, RN, DNP, NEA-BC  Executive Sponsor
  • Pharmacy coordinator Celia Weskamp, PharmD – Program Facilitator
  • Nursing director Wendy Muir, MSN, RN, CCRN-K – Subteam Leader
  • Clinical nurse specialist Ruth Van Gerpen, MS, RN-BC, APRN-CNS, AOCNS – Subteam Leader
  • Director of quality and patient safety Angela Herbert, MSN, RN – Subteam Leader
  • Bryan Independence Center director Jerome Barry, LMHP, LADC
  • Marketing & media relations manager Deb Boehle
  • Orthopedic surgeon Matthew Byington, MD, Prairie Orthopaedic & Plastic Surgery
  • Adult and pediatric hospitalist Alissa Clough, MD, Inpatient Physician Associates
  • Mental health director Shannon Engler, MSN, RN
  • Hospitalist Lynette Exum, MD, Inpatient Physician Associates
  • Chief Nursing Officer April Gaines, MSN, RN, Crete Area Medical Center
  • Pharmacy manager Tiffany Goeller, PharmD
  • Intensivist Bill Johnson, MD, Nebraska Pulmonary Specialties
  • Pharmacy manager Allyn Komorowski, PharmD
  • Anesthesiologist Jeff Krivohlavek, MD, Associated Anesthesiologists
  • Mental health manager Dave Miers, PhD, LIPC
  • Emergency medicine medical director Ed Mlinek, MD, Nebraska Emergency Medicine
  • Physical therapy manager Cindy Nehe, MS, CCC-SLP
  • Pharmacy manager Scott Persson, PharmD
  • Clinical pharmacist Mikayla Rageth, PharmD
  • Family physician David Rutz, MD, East Lincoln Family  Health Professionals
  • Trauma nurse practitioner Megan Simpson, MSN, APRN
  • Order set program lead Amy Vertin, MD, Crete Area Medical Center
  • Licensed clinical psychologist Stacy Waldron, PhD
  • Anesthesiologist Jesse Weir, MD, Associated Anesthesiologists


Copyright 2019 Bryan Health. All rights reserved.