Skip to Content

Trauma Team

A collaborative group of expert, specially trained health professionals

A Trauma Team is a group of specially trained health professionals who work together provide a seamless response to a traumatic injury. The Trauma Team is available upon a moment's notice 24 hours a day to care for people who have been critically injured.

The multidisciplinary Trauma Team is a group of healthcare professionals that provides care to trauma patients following the initial resuscitation and treatment. The team regularly reviews the patient's plan of care during patient rounds to ensure the highest quality of care. The trauma team has a strong affiliation to the Lincoln Community Blood Bank to ensure trauma patients have access to needed resources. Laboratory services are provided within Bryan Medical Center.

This team includes:

  • Trauma-trained physicians
  • Registered nurses
  • Nurse practitioners
  • Physician assistants
  • Physical therapists
  • Respiratory therapists
  • Occupational therapists
  • Speech therapists
  • Dietitians
  • Pharmacists
  • Rehabilitation specialists
  • Chemical dependency nurses
  • Social workers
  • Chaplains

Trauma Team Leaders

Trauma team leaders are surgeons qualified in managing overall trauma patient care. They are board certified, Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) certified and must meet specific criteria to be appointed as team leaders. The physicians currently serving as trauma team leaders for the Bryan Trauma Center are:

reginald burton
Reginald A. Burton, MD, FACS, FCCM
Director, Trauma & Acute Care Surgery
Nebraska Trauma Acute Care Surgery
2300 S. 16th St., Lincoln, NE 68502
402-481-4167

Medical School: Loma Linda University
Residency: Loma Linda University Medical Center
Fellowship: University of Maryland Medical Center- Shock Trauma Center
Board Certifications: General Surgery, Surgical Critical Care, Neuro Critical Care
Other: American College of Surgeons, National Member of the Committee on Trauma, Former American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma Region VII Chief


stanley okoson
Stanley Okosun, MD, MSc, FACS, FCCM
Associate Director of Trauma
Nebraska Trauma Acute Care Surgery
2300 S. 16th St., Lincoln, NE 68502
402-481-4167

Medical School: University of Benin, Nigeria
Residency: Inova Fairfax Hospital, Fairfax, Va.
Fellowship: University of Maryland Medical Center- Shock Trauma Center
Board Certifications: General Surgery, Surgical Critical Care

julie walcutt

Julie Walcutt, MD
Nebraska Trauma Acute Care Surgery
2300 S. 16th St., Lincoln, NE 68502
402-481-4167

Medical school: Washington University
Residency: University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Fellowship: University of Missouri-Columbia- Surgical Critical Care
Board Certifications: General Surgery, Surgical Critical Care

kevin mota
Kevin R. Mota, MD, FACS

Prairie Surgical Associates, PC
1919 S. 40th St., Suite 107, Lincoln, NE 68506
402-486-3400

Medical School: University of Nebraska College of Medicine
Residency: University of Nebraska Medical Center

Program Staff

robbie dumond

Robbie Dumond, RN, EMT-I

Bryan Trauma Program Manager
402-481-5150
robbie.dumond@bryanhealth.org


deb schleiger

Deb Schleiger, CSTR

Trauma Registry Coordinator
402-481-5658
deb.schleiger@bryanhealth.org


jennifer middlekauff

Jennifer Middlekauff, BSN, RN

Trauma Performance Improvement Nurse
402-481-4145
jennifer.middlekauff@bryanhealth.org


heather talbott

Heather Talbott, MSN, RN

Trauma Outreach and Injury Prevention Coordinator
402-481-4087
heather.talbott@bryanhealth.org


bethany berg

Bethany Berg, PA-C

Bryan Trauma Program
402-481-4167
bethany.berg@bryanhealth.org


chatwell lauren pa

Lauren Chatwell, PA-C

Bryan Trauma Program
402-481-4167
lauren.chatwell@bryanhealth.org


molly humlicek

Molly Humlicek, PA-C

Bryan Trauma Program
402-481-4167
molly.humlicek@bryanhealth.org


kristin keebler

Kristin Keebler, APRN

Bryan Trauma Program
402-481-4167
kristin.keebler@bryanhealth.org


holly persson

Holly Persson, APRN-NP

Bryan Trauma Program
402-481-4167
holly.persson@bryanhealth.org


megan reid

Megan Reid, APRN-NP

Bryan Trauma Program
402-481-4167
megan.reid@bryanhealth.org


scott schroeder

Scott Schroeder, APRN-NP

Bryan Trauma Program
402-481-4167
scott.schroeder@bryanhealth.org


ann wieseler

Ann Wieseler, APRN-NP

Bryan Trauma Program
402-481-4167
ann.wieseler@bryanhealth.org


debbie hazen

Kirsten Van Cleef, MSW
Bryan Trauma Social Worker
402-481-4071
Kirsten.VanCleef@bryanhealth.org


kirsten van cleef

Debbie Hazen, BSN, RN
Bryan Trauma Nurse Care Manager
402-481-4375
debbie.hazen@bryanhealth.org

Trauma Consultants

Trauma consultants are specialized medical professionals who are trained in caring for critically ill and injured patients.

To find a specific trauma consultant, please use our physician directory. I.e. neurosurgery or trauma.

Top

Copyright 2016 Bryan Health. All rights reserved.